skip to main content

DIGNITY ACT Information

 

New York State has enacted new legislation effective July 1, 2012 titled The Dignity for All Students Act (DASA).  This legislation is intended to provide students in public schools an educational environment free from discrimination and harassment.  It protects against all forms of harassment, particularly those based on a student’s actual or perceived race, color, weight, national origin, ethnic group, religion, religious practice, disability, sexual orientation, gender identity or sex.

The Shoreham-Wading River Board of Education and administration are committed to providing an educational and work environment that promotes respect, dignity and equality for all.  We as a school community recognize that safe and supportive learning environments can increase student attendance and improve academic achievement.  A student’s ability to learn and a school’s ability to educate students is compromised by incidents of discrimination or harassment, including but not limited to bullying, taunting and intimidation.  

To this end, the Board of Education and administration’s updated Code of Conduct condemns and strictly prohibits all forms of discrimination, such as harassment, hazing, and bullying on school grounds, school buses and all school sponsored activities, programs and events.  The District will continue to strive to create an environment free of bullying, discrimination and/or harassment.

  

DIGNITY FOR ALL STUDENTS ACT (DASA) COORDINATORS

NAME

School and Title

EMAIL 

PHONE NUMBER

Claudia Smith

Miller Avenue School, Principal

csmith@swr.k12.ny.us

631-821-8232

Louis Parrinello

Wading River, Principal 

lparrinello@swr.k12.ny.us

631-821-8253

Daniel Ackerman

Prodell Middle School, Assistant Principal

dackerman@swr.k12.ny.us

631-821-8212

Kevin Vann

Prodell Middle School, Principal

kvann@swr.k12.ny.us

631-821-8211

John Holownia

SWR High School, Assistant Principal

jholownia@swr.k12.ny.us

631-821-8133

Frank Pugliese

SWR High School, Principal

fpugliese@swr.k12.ny.us

631-821-8264

Tracy Von Eschen

Districtwide, Director of Special Education & Pupil Personnel Services

tvoneschen@swr.k12.ny.us

631-821-8114